What is a Special Flood Hazard Area (SFHA)?
The SFHA is defined as an area of land that would be inundated by a flood having a 1% chance of occurring or being exceeded in any given year (formerly referred to as the 100-year flood). The 1% standard was chosen by FEMA to determine flood risk and flood insurance rates.

There are several categories of SFHA. They include A, AE, AO, A99, V and VE. Each has a different flood insurance cost associated with it.

Homes in SFHAs that have been paid for with federally-backed mortgages are required to carry flood insurance.

Show All Answers

1. FEMA is asking my insurance agent for documentation regarding my flood zone. Why and how do I respond?
2. Why do I have to pay flood insurance if my property has never been flooded?
3. How can I reduce the cost of my flood insurance?
4. How can I get my property out of the flood zone?
5. What is a Base Flood?
6. What is the Base Flood Elevation (BFE)?
7. Does my home qualify for a grandfather flood insurance policy?
8. What is a Special Flood Hazard Area (SFHA)?
9. Will FEMA grant a LOMA for a detached garage if the garage floor is below the BFE but the building is wet-flood proofed?
10. Where can I obtain a copy of the Flood Insurance Rate Map (FIRM)?
11. Who do I call if I have more questions about flood insurance?