View All Posts

Dec 06

Police department honors officers and employees

Posted on December 6, 2017 at 3:08 pm by Meghan Revolinsky

By: Nicole Acker

On Dec. 2, the Police Department recognized its employee and officer of the year for 2017 at the annual employee appreciation dinner sponsored by the Menlo Park Police Foundation. In addition, Chief Bob Jonsen was recognized by police employees and the foundation for his commitment and leadership to the department for over four years. Officer Felicia Byars was presented with her retirement badge and plaque for her 15 years of service with the City of Menlo Park as a patrol and traffic officer. The B side, midnight team of officers, received the “Chief’s Award” for their outstanding handling of some significant incidents in 2017. Their bravery and commitment to keeping the community safe was clearly demonstrated.

Communications Dispatcher Jennifer Manry received the department’s employee of the year recognition and Jeffrey Cooley was named officer of the year. Both employees are assets to the organization and the community. Jennifer is an experienced, enthusiastic and outstanding police dispatcher who displays a professional and positive attitude. She is very proficient and knowledgeable when assisting the public and officers out in the field. Jeff is a hard worker, thorough investigator, outstanding report writer, mentor and trainer. He is currently on patrol and is heavily relied upon to complete the most complex tasks and cases. He has a positive attitude and interacts well with the public.

One last recognition was the JL3 award, which is given to officers who consistently perform at a high level in their responsibilities of report writing, arrests and traffic enforcement for the year. JL3 represents Menlo Park Police Officer John William Lyle, who was killed in the line of duty in 1960. John’s badge number three (3) is forever retired, and this is a way to continue recognizing his commitment to law enforcement and the service he provided to Menlo Park. Since, 2013, ten officers have received this award, and this year’s recognition went to Officer Galen Fliege.

Police department honors officers and employees